Fiction publisher

Announcement of the 2021 Ringo Prize winners – Multiversity Comics


The 2021 edition of the Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards, honoring the best comics and creators of 2020, was held last night at Baltimore Comic Con. Stan Sakai won the award for best cartoonist and best series for “Usagi Yojimbo”, while Sarah Andersen won both webcomics categories for “Fangs” and “Sarah’s Scribbles”.

Matt Kindt and Matt Smith won the Ringo Spirit Award for their BOOM! Studios series “Folklords,” while Marvel’s Creative Director Joe Quesada received the Hero Initiative Award of Excellence and Gene Ha received the organization’s Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award.

Now, without further ado, here are the rest of the winners of the evening:

Best Cartoonist (Writer / Artist): Stan sakai

Best Writer: James Tynion IV (“Wynd”)

Best artist or designer: Jamal Campbell (“Distant Sector”)

Best inker: Sanford Greene (“Bitter Root”)

Best Letterer: Aditya Bidikar (“Ice Cream Man: Quarantine Comix Special”)

Best Colourist: Tamra Bonvillain (“Once and a Future”)

Best Cover Artist: Momoko fishing

Best series: “Usagi Yojimbo”, IDW Publishing

Best Single Issue or Story: “The OZ” by David Pepose & Ruben Rojas, self-published

Best Original Graphic Novel: “Pulp” by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips, Image Comics

Best Anthology: “Be Gay, Make Comics”, IDW Publishing

Best Comic Book: “Metalshark Bro 2: Assault on Hamzig Island” by Bob Frantz, Kevin Cuffe & Walter Ostlie, Scout Comics

Best webcomic: Sarah Andersen’s “Crocs”

Best humorous webcomic: Sarah Andersen’s “Sarah’s Doodles”

Best Non-Fiction Comedy: “State of Kent: Four Dead in Ohio” by Derf Backderf, Abrams Books

Best Children’s Comic or Graphic Novel: “Twins” by Varian Johnson and Shannon Wright, Scholastic Graphix

Best presentation in design: “Dave Cockrum’s X-Men Artifact Edition,” IDW Publishing

In addition, the Fan Awards went to:

– Persephone from “Lore Olympus” for Favorite Hero.
– Emma from “My Deepest Secret” by Hanza Art for Favorite Villain.
– “Midnight Poppy Land” for the new favorite series.
– Lilydusk, creator of “Midnight Poppy Land”, for the new favorite talent.
– Rocketship for preferred publisher.

Congratulations to all the winners of the year. You can see the rest of the nominees here and watch the live stream of the ceremony (which starts around 1 hour and 10 minutes) below:


Tags : comic book
Margarita W. Wilson

The author Margarita W. Wilson